Food Hero


Carrot Ginger Soup by Katy K
September 19, 2008, 4:47 pm
Filed under: Katy K, Soup
Carrot Ginger Soup with a little freshly ground black pepper

Carrot Ginger Soup with a little freshly ground black pepper

Another recipe from Low Carb 1-2-3 by Rozanne Gold.  This soup is bright, both in flavour and in colour.  It sort of glows in my white bowls.  I made it the other week and brought it to my friend’s house to eat with her grilled salmon dinner.  She said it was great carrot soup – very enthusiastically.  I left the remainder of the soup with her and got a nice clean container back a couple of days later.

Ingredients

1.5 lbs                carrots
5 inch piece of   ginger
4.5 Tblsp            cream

Peel carrots, slice into 1″ pieces, boil in 4 cups of water with 1/2 teaspoon salt until tender (about 35 minutes).  While carrots are cooking, peel and grate ginger on the large holes of a box grater.  Wrap grated ginger in cheesecloth and squeeze it to extract the juice – you want about a tablespoon.  Puree carrots and cooking water in a food processor, strain into cooking pot (to remove big lumps).  Heat soup up, add ginger juice and stir in.  Add cream and stir in.  Add salt and pepper to taste, and serve.

The ginger juice is a little odd.  It has a white substance in it that separates and sticks to the bottom of the cup – a little like cornstarch when you are are mixing it with water.  I stir up the ginger juice and scrape up the cornstarchy stuff with it and mix it all together into the soup.  For all I know all the vitamins (or taste) are in it.  I have a feeling that the ginger flavour in this soup is so warm and bright because of this unusual ingredient of ginger juice.  Enjoy!


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I made this tonight – cheap and easy, insert smarmy joke of your choice – and will compose and serve it for lunch tomorrow. So far, a success…

Comment by betsy

This was easy to make, and squeezing out ginger juice was cool. The color was awesome, although I liked it better before the cream was added.

Mine turned out a little bland, though not for want of salt – I’m not sure what I could have done to pep it up a little. I liked it quite a bit, but the family were rather less enthusiastic.

Comment by Dave




Leave a comment