Food Hero


Happy Hour – Cosmopolitan by Katy K
August 20, 2008, 11:45 am
Filed under: cocktails, happy hour, Katy K | Tags: , ,

Posted by: Katy K
My absolute favourite cocktail is a Cosmopolitan. It is both delicious and beautiful. People think it isn’t a “real” cocktail – just some girl’s drink whose main feature is the color.

A good Cosmopolitan is not very sweet and made with fresh lime.  It is not so different from other “real” cocktails such as the margarita or the daiquiri (the original daiquiri).  The pink color comes from a dash of cranberry juice, a completely respectable ingredient for a drink.  The men don’t know what they are missing.

Shopping List

Vodka (Ketel One is good)
Cointreau
fresh limes
sugar (or sugar syrup: how to make simple syrup)
unsweetened organic cranberry juice

Per drink:

-Muddle 1/4 or 1/2 of a lime with 1 tsp of sugar (or simple syrup) in the bottom of a cocktail shaker. (How to muddle skip forward to 2:30 to save blah blah blah.)
-Add ice
-Pour 1.5 oz of vodka, 1/2 oz of Cointreau and approximately 1/2 of a teaspoon of cranberry juice over the ice.
-Shake vimfully until cold and a little water from the ice has opened up the flavors of the drink.
-Strain into a stemmed martini glass. You may garnish with a slice of lime if you wish. 

I think that muddling whole slices of lime is important because I believe that the oil in the rind adds to the flavor. 
I use “Baker’s Sugar” which is finer than regular sugar to make my drinks and my simple syrup because it dissolves more easily in liquid.  Actually I use baker’s sugar for everything now.  It comes in an easy-to-use milk carton-type container.
I also freeze cranberry juice in an ice cube tray and store the ice cubes in a ziploc bag in the freezer.  Then I can melt a cranberry cube and have some juice for a few cocktails any time I want. 
I like to use a pint glass with my cocktail shaker – the way the bartenders do.  I have old-fashioned ice-cube-tray ice.  It is big and I can’t crush it with a muddler.  When I shake it in the extended cocktail shaker volume, made by inverting a pint glass into the shaker, my cubed ice is broken down. This cools off my drink and releases water more effectively than the cocktail shaker alone.

I love this Cosmo but, other than this one, the best one I’ve found in Seattle is served up by the bartender at Bick’s Broadview Grill on Greenwood Ave (where I did hear a man order a Grey Goose Cosmo just the other day).

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m going to try that one. I LOOOOOve Cocktails. Here’s one we made this summerhttp://ellenmcdermott.blogspot.com/2008/06/saved-for-rainy-day.html

Comment by ellen from ireland

[…] is like a Cosmopolitan with lemon instead of lime (I guess that’s why I like it). Put a teaspoon of superfine sugar […]

Pingback by Happy Hour - Lemon Drop « Food Hero




Leave a Reply

