Food Hero


Happy Hour – Lime Daiquiri by Katy K
August 30, 2008, 2:33 am
Filed under: cocktails, happy hour, Katy K, Uncategorized
I heard that the daiquiri was Hemingway’s favourite drink.  I like a simple old-fashioned shaken lime daiquiri served up or on a few rocks. Recently, my friend has been ordering daiquiris around town and he has received this answer more than once – “we don’t have a blender” – really!?!
The daiquiri is in that category of drinks I love so well – mix your favourite liquor with some lime, shake, and enjoy. Cocktails can be a good source of vitamin C (gotta keep that scurvy at bay).

Fresh Daiquiri and my Simple Syrup Teddy

Fresh Daiquiri and my Simple Syrup Teddy

Ingredients (per drink)
1.5 oz Rum (10 Cane – yummy!)
Juice of 1/4 to 1/2 a lime
1 tsp of sugar or simple syrup.

Muddle limes and sugar, add ice, pour in rum and shake, shake, shake.  Strain into a martini glass.  Sometimes I add a few ice cubes if the day is warm.

Chronic Chronicling: The Inspiration for my Simple Syrup Teddy: I used to work with this beautiful, funny, energetic woman. One day I was with her watching a bike race in Vancouver on a rainy day – I thought it might be interesting.  Bikes were skidding and wiping out all over the place and you don’t really see who wins – you have to wait for the news to spread through the crowd – it was uninteresting. She livened up the whole spectator situation when she pulled her Tequila Teddy out of her purse. That’s what she called her honey bear that she had refilled with tequila and I thought she was hilarious.  Her boyfriend was a cyclist so she came prepared.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Everytime I see the Simple Syrup Teddy it makes me smile!

Comment by magpiegirl777




Leave a Reply

