Food Hero


Happy Hour – Margarita by Katy K
September 26, 2008, 2:06 am
Filed under: cocktails, happy hour, Katy K
Scratch Margarita on the rocks with salt

Scratch Margarita on the rocks with salt

Fresh squeezed Margaritas are another great source of Vitamin C. This is the most successful Margarita recipe I’ve tried.  It is adapted from Cook’s Illustrated magazine.  I think the mixture of lemon and lime juice makes the drink a little more bright in colour and in flavour.  Once, I was in my kitchen, busily squeezing citrus to make one of these for my friend and she observed that it was a “Margarita with love”.  I know it is  a little late in the year for Margaritas but it is one of my best cocktail recipes so I have to share.  Unfortunately, the Margarita pictured here looks a little pale but the sun goes down early in Seattle now, so I had to take the picture in artificial light. Notice my double-walled glass from Bodum? It helps keep the drink cold and makes it look like the Margarita is suspended in the air, like magic.

Ingredients

Fresh Margarita Mix
1/2 Cup          fresh squeezed lemon juice
1/2 Cup          fresh squeezed lime juice
1/4 Cup          Baker’s sugar (it’s superfine!)
pinch of salt

Tequila           (I like Herradura Silver)
Cointreau

Mix together lemon, lime, sugar and salt. Over ice in a cocktail shaker, pour 1 part margarita mix, 1 part tequila and 3/4 to 1 part Cointreau (depending upon how sweet you want it).  Shake well and strain into a glass with some ice and rimmed with salt.  Rub a leftover squeezed lime rind around the rim of the glass and then dip the rim in some salt (Baleine, for example).  When I make one drink, the part is 1.5 ounces. 

This is a pretty strong margarita and I noticed that it hit one of my young friends pretty hard so I tried a mixture of 1 part margarita mix, 1/2 part tequila, 1/2 part Cointreau, 1 part filtered water. I shook it up and served it and it was tasty, refreshing, and you can drink more of it!

The original recipe in Cook’s Illustrated steeps zest from both the lemon and lime (4 tsp each) in the margarita mix for 4 to 24 hours and then strains it out before using.  I have found that various flavours, both good and bad, can be imparted by the zest.  This probably depends on the quality of the fruit.  Now, I don’t gamble with my mix and just skip the zest.

I like my Margaritas on the rocks with salt.  They’re just delicious that way. I like Herradura Silver Tequila because it doesn’t have a very forward taste – it blends nicely with the juices and doesn’t show off.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

As the ‘young friend’, I protest! I hadn’t had lunch that day, and possibly not breakfast either. Give me another chance with the true recipe and I’ll hold my own. But this picture is fantastic, as usual, and makes me want a drink right now! even though it is 10.47pm and the boy is sitting next to me asleep in front of the football game.) All the more reason for a drink.

Comment by SEW




Leave a Reply

