Food Hero


Australian Pumpkin Soup by Rachelle
October 18, 2008, 7:41 pm
Filed under: Main Dish, quick fix, Rachelle Mee-Chapman | Tags: , , ,


Submitted by Rachelle: Australian Pumpkin Soup with Pine Nuts

Australian Pumpkin Soup

In graduate school, my part-time job was to cook soup for the entire school once a week — 300 people! It was an international grad school, and we tried to cook foods from some of different countries that were represented in the student body. One of my classmates from Australia taught me how to make this ‘pumpkin’ soup — what we in the States call butternut squash. It’s a bit of a sweeter soup with a nutty taste and interesting flavor from the worchestershire. When Barbara, a new friend from South African managed to scare up some butternut squash here in Denmark I was quick to whip out this recipe. It’s one of my favorites.

2 pounds butternut squash, peeled and chopped
4-6 c vegetable or chicken stock
2 onions, chopped
2 T olive oil
1/2 t nutmeg
black pepper and salt to taste
1 -14oz can creamed corn
1-3 T worchestershire sauce

Optional: slice almonds or pine nuts

1) Use a good vegetable peeler to peel squash. Cut in half. Remove seeds. Chop into roughly 1 inch pieces.

2) Put stock and squash in a large pot. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and cook 15-20 minutes or until tender.

3) Using an immersion blender, puree squash and stock. An immersion blender is one of the best tools you can have in the kitchen. But if you don’t have one you can do this in a blender in small batches. It can be helpful to hold the lid down with a potholder to prevent the steam from forcing off the lid.

4) In a skillet, saute onions in olive oil, nutmeg, salt and pepper.

5) Put onions mixture in the stock pot with squash/stock and add worchestershire and corn. Gently heat through. Adjust seasonings. Serve topped with toasted nuts.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I made this soup last weekend and I have been eating it for lunch at work. It has an interesting taste (I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg because nutmeg upsets my tummy). It’s like cream of corn except it’s a little more savory and the cream is made of butternut squash.

Someone commented about how good it smelled yesterday as they were walking by. Today somebody else stopped by my cube to ask if I was eating the same soup as I was eating yesterday. I said – yes – It’s Australian Pumpkin Soup and the recipe is on Food Hero! He said it smelled so good and asked for the link.

Comment by Katy K

this sounds AMAZING! I have a friend in Oz who gave me a recipe I’m giving to you and she calls it “pumpkin pizza” – I had to get a translation here from another local friend from Oz and she said “oh no (in her cute aussie accent) not pumpkin, too watery – you want squash – the one with the little bum” 😀

here’s the MOST AMAZING recipe I have ever been given:

http://www.recipezaar.com/Aussie-Pumpkin-Pizza-326484

Comment by Heidi Renee




Leave a Reply

