Food Hero


Cinnamon Spiced Mango with Toasted Coconut by Katy K
November 10, 2008, 3:59 am
Filed under: Baked Goods/Desserts, Katy K, quick fix | Tags:

img_24891Another winner from the Low Carb 1-2-3 cookbook by Rozanne Gold. I have been having good luck picking mangoes lately.  They say to pick one that gives a little under your thumb and that isn’t wrinkly. I picked an organic one that fit this description at the local food co-op and the cashier gave it to me for free because he thought it was bruised.  I left it on a shelf where I keep my tomatoes for a couple of weeks, and then I prepared this recipe. It turned out to be a great mango, in flavor, color, texture…and price!

Ingredients

Fresh mango
shredded coconut
cardamon and/or cinnamon

Toast the coconut over high heat in a pan, stirring constantly. As soon as they are as toasted as I want, I pour them out of the pan onto a cold plate to stop the toasting process. Slice the mango into attractive pieces.  I found that using a serrated knife (bread knife) was helpful because it bites into the skin of the mango instead of sliding off.  Put the mango on the cutting board on an edge. Use the serrated knife to cut close to the pit and slice off a “cheek”. Use a paring knife to make vertical slices in the cut side of the cheek (the goal is to not cut through the skin but it’s okay if you do a little).  Then use a spoon to remove the slices of mango from themango-en-place22 peel. I found it useful to remove one slice at a time with the spoon (see right).  Arrange the mango slices on a plate, sprinkle with some cardamon and/or cinnamon, and scatter the toasted coconut on top. I used a very little cardamon (for an exotic hint) and more cinnamon. I also used a tea strainer to sprinkle the spices, lightly and evenly. The mango tastes delicious with the coconut and spices. It feels like a really indulgent dessert – even without ice cream!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

