Food Hero


Happy Hour – Papa Doble by Katy K
November 17, 2008, 4:27 pm
Filed under: cocktails, happy hour, Katy K

papa-doble-iv6The Papa Doble is a variation of the Lime Daiquiri and “Papa” in the name refers to Ernest Hemingway. I found this recipe in a cookbook that was a gift from a great friend who always gives me Canadian books (novels or cookbooks) for Christmas every year. This cookbook is from Lumiere, a famous Vancouver restaurant.  Lumiere Light is a beautiful book and full of cocktail recipes. The food recipes are very complicated so I’m working on the cocktail recipes first. I heard that the bartender from Lumiere is now in charge of the bar at Vessel in Seattle (named a “best bar” by Esquire Magazine). I’ve been there once and had a couple of delicious drinks from a very exciting menu of cocktails.  

I really enjoy the Papa Doble.  This drink has both grapefruit and lime juices (great sources of Vitamin C) and no sweeteners other than a dash of maraschino liqueur.  The generous measure of rum and the bitter tang of the grapefruit results in a cocktail that is both delicious and … bracing.

with a pink star ice cube

with a pink star ice cube

For one cocktail…

 3   oz white rum (I use 10 Cane – it’s not white but I like it)
3/4 oz fresh squeezed lime juice 
3/4 oz fresh squeezed pink grapefruit juice 
1/4 oz maraschino liqueur 

Mix all ingredient together over ice in a cocktail shaker, shake vimfully,as one always should with a cocktail shaker, and strain into a cocktail glass (the one they serve martinis in). Enjoy!

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love Ten Cane! Paul smuggled a bottle back to Copenhagen from Atlanta. I don’t share it with ANYONE! Everyone else in the join get Bacardi. (Poor ugly rum stepchild!) 🙂 Wish grapefruit didn’t trigger migraines or I would totally make this….then again, if I drank ENOUGH of the papa doble would I notice the migraine…..:-)

Comment by magpiegirl777

[…] Jen said that since my Gremlins were so very busy, maybe I should build them somewhere to go after work. After all, they did have my best intentions at heart. They were trying to protect me – to keep me from doing anything scary, or potentially painful, or too awfully adventuresome. So maybe I should give them a nice shag carpet and, in the words of Jena “sit them down and pour them a stiff drink already.” […]

Pingback by Magpie Girl » Blog Archive » Quiten Down: How to Shut Up your Gremlins.




Leave a Reply

