Food Hero


Cookie Classics: Chocolate Chip Oatmeal by Rachelle
May 23, 2009, 6:10 pm
Filed under: Baked Goods/Desserts, Rachelle Mee-Chapman | Tags: , , ,

 

 

Chewy, delicious oatmeal chocolate chippers on a handmade napkin.

Chewy, delicious oatmeal chocolate chippers on a handmade napkin.

Suzie the Foodie sent out a Tweet a couple weeks ago about it being time to bake cookies. Seeing as almost the only thing I contribute to this site is baking recipes, I of course immediately jumped on the bandwagon.

Foodimentary said it was National Oatmeal Cookie Day on April 30th so that’s what I cooked up. I’m just now getting the recipe up, but my, my, my it is a keepers.

This recipe came from my pal Heidi Flaming-Buschman. (I know, that’s a freaking AWESOME last name, right?!) The only changes I’ve made is to swap out the shortening for all-butter, and since I can’t get chocolate chips here in Denmark, I chop up a big bittersweet chocolate bar.

On the purple recipe card Heidi gave me as at Christmas a decade ago, under serving size it says, “Makes a large amount.” Use your biggest mixing bowl because it really does make a ton. Have yum!

Heidi and Monte Flaming-Buschman’s Favorite Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

2 cups butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup sugar
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
3 1/3 c flour
1 tsp salt
2 tsp soda
4 c oatmeal
2 cups chocolate chips

Cream sugar and butter together. Add eggs and vanilla. Then add dry ingredients to creamed mixture. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop by spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet. Bake for 8-12 minutes at 375 degree oven. Makes a large amount.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

These would last about twelve minutes in my house. Yum!!

Comment by Jena Strong

Ah, a reference to the Flaming-Buschmans. I still remember that hilarious story about the mother of one of her students bad mouthing the teacher whose name she couldn’t seem to remember!?
Did I ever tell you that this year I discovered I developed an oversensitivity to oats? Crazy, but true. Someday I hope to return to this love of mine.

Comment by Susan Young

This has become my favorite cookie recipie. Oh and the banana chocolate chip muffins…to die for!! Josh requests them regularly! I think he purposefully doesn’t eat all the bananas we buy in hopes they’ll turn black and I’ll make muffins. 🙂

Comment by Tonya




Leave a Reply

